Osteochilus vittatus (VALENCIENNES 1842)

One of the barbs I got from Thomas TILLMANN (Hobbyzoo Duisburg) is Osteochilus vittatusIn the first three days after arriving in Kiel I was neither able to take photos nor even to try to identify the species.

Osteochilus-vittatus

The single specimen was monotonous, namely silvery-olive green in colour, showed no markings whatsoever and did not reveal a single characteristic that could have been used for orientation. I therefore decided to photograph the other barbs first, which settled in much faster. And so, after three days without any change in the holding tank, this specimen was transferred to the photo tank, given time to settle in and then, after about a week, a completely different fish swam in front of me. A black spot had formed on the caudal peduncle, all the fins, but especially the pelvic fins, had taken on a slight red shimmer and beautiful pale red dots surrounded by bluish iridescent spots stood out behind the gill cover. From the height of the pelvic fins to the caudal peduncle, there were horizontal rows of dark spots. Until today, the colouration has intensified even further. The basic colouration is now a strong olive-green, especially in the dorsal area, and silvery in the ventral area.

There are currently ten secure synonyms of the species, a further synonymisation is possibly still pending and is unclear so far. According to KOTTELAT (1998), the species lives in almost all types of biotopes, but is mainly found in rivers with weak currents and muddy substrates. TAN et al. (2009) also caught O. vittatus in stagnant waters with a loose bottom on the island of Sumatra. The preference for soft bottom and weak current is explained by the carpfish-typical and burrowing feeding pattern, which I can also observe in my individual. SOKHENG et al. (1999) describe the species as a spawning migrant that visits flooded areas during the rainy season and spawns there. The young migrate quickly back to the permanently water-bearing rivers and continue to grow there. The distribution area is considered to be the areas of the Mekong and the Chao Phraya, the basins of Thailand’s two largest rivers. The species also lives in southern Myanmar and China.

In literature, maximum sizes of 20 to 32 cm are given, my individual currently measures ten centimetres and seems to increase in width rather than in length. I cannot make any statements about intraspecific behaviour, and no aquaristic experience could be found. As expected, there have been no difficulties in the last few months, my barb lives relaxed in the predatory catfish tank and snatches food from the slow cave stools.

 

Literature:

  • KOTTELAT, M., 1998. Fishes of the Nam Theun and Xe Bangfai basins, Laos, with diagnoses of twenty-two new species (Teleostei: Cyprinidae, Balitoridae, Cobitidae, Coiidae and Odontobutidae). Ichthyol. Explor. Freshwat. 9(1):1-128.
  • SOKHENG, C., C.K. CHHEA, S. VIRAVONG, K. BOUAKHAMVONGSA, U. SUNTORNRATANA, N. YOORONG, N.T. TUNG, T.Q. BAO, A.F. POULSEN and J.V. JØRGENSEN, 1999. Fish migrations and spawning habits in the Mekong mainstream: a survey using local knowledge (basin-wide). Assessment of Mekong fisheries: Fish Migrations and Spawning and the Impact of Water Management Project (AMFC). AMFP Report 2/99. Vientiane, Lao, P.D.R.
  • TAN, H.H. and M. KOTTELAT, 2009. The fishes of Batang Hari drainage, Sumatra, with descriptions of six new species. Ichthyol. Explor. Freshwat. 20(1):13-69.

Leave a Reply

Osteochilus vittatus (VALENCIENNES 1842)

Eine meiner Barben, die ich von Thomas TILLMANN (Hobbyzoo Duisburg) bekam, ist Osteochilus vittatus. In den ersten drei Tagen nach der Ankunft in Kiel war es mir weder möglich Fotos zu machen noch auch nur den Versuch zu unternehmen die Art zu bestimmen.Osteochilus-vittatusDas Einzelexemplar war absolut monoton, und zwar silbrig-olivgrün gefärbt, zeigte keinerlei Zeichnung und ließ nicht ein einziges Merkmal erkennen, an dem man sich hätte orientieren können. Ich beschloss daher erst die anderen Barben zu fotografieren, die sich deutlich schneller einlebten. Und so wanderte dieses Exemplar nach drei Tagen ohne Veränderung im Hälterungsbecken in das Fotobecken, bekam Zeit sich einzuleben und nach ungefähr einer Woche schwamm dann ein ganz anderer Fisch vor mir. Auf dem Schwanzstiel hatte sich ein schwarzer Fleck gebildet, alle Flossen, besonders aber die Bauchflossen, hatten einen leichten Rotschimmer bekommen und hinter dem Kiemendeckel zeichneten sich schöne blassrote Punkte ab, die von bläulich irisierenden Pünktchen umgeben waren. Von der Höhe der Bauchflossen bis in den Schwanzstiel hinein erstreckten sich zudem horizontale Reihen dunkler Flecken. Bis heute hat sich die Färbung noch weiter intensiviert. Die Grundfärbung ist jetzt insbesondere im dorsalen Bereich kräftig olivgrün, im ventralen Bereich silbrig.

Zehn sichere Synonyme gibt es aktuell von der Art, eine weitere Synonymisierung steht womöglich noch aus und ist bisher unklar. Nach KOTTELAT (1998) lebt die Art in nahezu allen Biotoptypen, ist aber hauptsächlich in Flüssen mit schwacher Strömung und schlammigem Untergrund anzutreffen. TAN et al. (2009) fingen O. vittatus ebenfalls in stehenden Gewässern mit lockerem Bodengrund auf der Insel Sumatra. Die Präferenz für weichen Bodengrund und schwache Strömung ist mit der karpfenfischtypischen und gründelnden Ernährungsweise erklärt, die ich auch an meinem Individuum beobachten kann. SOKHENG et al. (1999) beschreiben die Art als Laichwanderer, die während der Regenzeit überflutete, Areale aufsucht und dort ablaicht. Die Jungtiere wandern zügig zurück in die permanent wasserführenden Flüsse und wachsen dort weiter heran. Als Verbreitungsgebiet gelten die Einzugsgebiete des Mekong sowie des Chao Phraya, die Basins der zwei größten Flüsse Thailands. Außerdem lebt die Art im Süden Myanmars und Chinas.

In der Literatur finden sich Maximalgrößenangaben von 20 bis 32 cm, mein Individuum misst aktuell noch zehn Zentimeter und scheint eher in die Breite zuzunehmen als in die Länge. Über ein intraspezifisches Verhalten kann ich keine Aussagen treffen, und es ließen sich auch keine aquaristischen Erfahrungswerte finden. Schwierigkeiten gab es in den letzten Monaten erwartungsgemäß keine, meine Barbe lebt entspannt im Raubwelsbecken und schnappt den langsamen Höhlenhockern ihr Futter weg.

 

Literatur:

  • KOTTELAT, M., 1998. Fishes of the Nam Theun and Xe Bangfai basins, Laos, with diagnoses of twenty-two new species (Teleostei: Cyprinidae, Balitoridae, Cobitidae, Coiidae and Odontobutidae). Ichthyol. Explor. Freshwat. 9(1):1-128.
  • SOKHENG, C., C.K. CHHEA, S. VIRAVONG, K. BOUAKHAMVONGSA, U. SUNTORNRATANA, N. YOORONG, N.T. TUNG, T.Q. BAO, A.F. POULSEN and J.V. JØRGENSEN, 1999. Fish migrations and spawning habits in the Mekong mainstream: a survey using local knowledge (basin-wide). Assessment of Mekong fisheries: Fish Migrations and Spawning and the Impact of Water Management Project (AMFC). AMFP Report 2/99. Vientiane, Lao, P.D.R.
  • TAN, H.H. and M. KOTTELAT, 2009. The fishes of Batang Hari drainage, Sumatra, with descriptions of six new species. Ichthyol. Explor. Freshwat. 20(1):13-69.

Kommentar verfassen