Platynematichthys notatus

taken from the report 04-2016

Pier Aquatics (Wigan, England) came up with a special treat for catfish lovers in September: Two large specimens of the “lince catfish”, Platynematichthys notatus (JARDINE, 1841) could be imported from Peru.

Only very rarely do specimens of this attractive catfish species ever reach our aquarium. One of the reasons are the high transport costs, which inevitably arise with large catfish. The transport of the specimen shown here from Peru alone cost 815 EUR. A further obstacle is the export ban on so-called edible fish, i.e. fish of all families exceeding a fixed size of 26 cm, which are considered edible fish in their country of origin.

P. notatus can be easily identified and distinguished from all other pimelodids by its silvery ground colour, which is often found in Pimelodidae, and the numerous small, dark brown to black spots on its body. The seam of the dorsal as well as the inner seam of the caudal can be dark to deep black. There are few or no spots on the fin membranes. The head is somewhat blunt at the front and less flat or pointed than in most other “Pims”. The hard fin ray of the dorsal, anal and ventral are slightly longer and tapered.

The genus is monotypic, although there is some speculation that different species are currently addressed by the taxon notatus, as the animals currently known as local forms differ slightly in colouration. Many of the large Pimelodids, however, live in very large distribution areas, which can also extend over different river systems. This could explain phenotypic differences. It is assumed that the species is found in all countries eastwards of the Andes in of South America, except Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay. Type locality is the Rio Branco near Fort St. Joaquin (JARDINE, 1841), a tributary of the Rio Negro, which in turn flows from the north into the Rio Amazonas.

Final sizes of 50-60 cm are said to be normal for this species, which I have seen myself. From the Orinoco basin, however, even larger specimens are reported, which are said to reach a total length of up to one meter (ROMANO, 1985).

Literature:
* Jardine W. in Schomburgk (1841): 181, Pl. 7: The Natural history of fishes of Guiana; ref. 18707
* Romano B. (1985) Peces de Aqua Dulce de Venezuela Vol. I. Editorial Biosfera

Picture: Pier Aquatics

Leave a Reply

Platynematichthys notatus

aus dem Report 04-2016

Pier Aquatics (Wigan, England) wartete im September mal wieder mit einem besonderen Leckerbissen für Welsfreunde auf: Zwei große Exemplare des „Gepunkteten Störwelses“, Platynematichthys notatus (JARDINE, 1841) konnten aus Peru importiert werden.

Nur äußerst selten gelangen Exemplare dieser attraktiven Welsart einmal zu uns in die Aquaristik. Nicht unschuldig daran sind die hohen Transportkosten, die sich bei Großwelsen zwangsläufig ergeben. So kostete der alleinige Transport des hier gezeigten Exemplares aus Peru bereits 815 EUR. Ein weiteres Hindernis ist das in Peru geltende Exportverbot von sogenannten Speisefischen, also Fischen aller Familien, die eine festgesetzte Größe von 26 cm überschreiten und damit in ihrem Herkunftsland als Speisefisch gelten.

Anhand der silbrigen, oft bei Antennenwelsen vorkommenden Grundfarbe und der zahlreichen, kleinen, dunkelbraunen bis schwarzen Punkte auf dem Körper lässt sich P. notatus einfach identifizieren und von allen anderen Pimelodiden abgrenzen. Der Saum der Dorsale sowie die Innensäume der Caudale können dunkel bis tiefschwarz gefärbt sein. Auf den Flossenmembranen finden sich nur wenige oder gar keine Punkte. Der Kopf ist vorne etwas abgestumpft und weniger flach oder spitz zulaufend als es bei den meisten anderen Antennenwelsen der Fall ist. Der Hartstrahl der Dorsale, der Anale und die der Ventralen sind etwas länger ausgezogen und spitz zulaufend.

Die Gattung ist monotypisch, wobei es Vermutungen gibt, dass aktuell verschiedene Arten mit dem Taxon notatus angesprochen werden, da sich die zurzeit als Lokalformen bekannten Tiere geringfügig in der Färbung unterscheiden. Viele der groß werdenden Pimelodiden jedoch leben in ausgesprochen großen Verbreitungsgebieten, die sich auch über verschiedene Flusssysteme erstrecken können. Somit ließen sich phänotypische Unterschiede erklären. Es wird vermutet, dass die Art in allen ostandinen Ländern Südamerikas, mit Ausnahme von Argentinien, Paraguay und Uruguay vorkommt. Typuslokalität ist der Rio Branco beim Fort St. Joaquin (JARDINE, 1841), ein Nebenfluss des Rio Negro, der wiederum von Norden her in den Rio Amazonas fließt.

Endgrößen von 50-60 cm sollen bei der Art normal sein, was ich selber auch schon gesehen habe. Aus dem Orinocobecken wird allerdings von noch größeren Exemplaren berichtet, die eine Totallänge von bis zu einem Meter erreichen sollen (ROMANO, 1985).

Literatur:
* Jardine W. in Schomburgk (1841): 181, Pl. 7: The Natural history of fishes of Guiana; ref. 18707
* Romano B. (1985) Peces de Aqua Dulce de Venezuela Vol. I. Editorial Biosfera

Bilder: Pier Aquatics

Kommentar verfassen